Rocket League Ranking System Explained

Gain a better understanding of Rocket League’s ranking system

Don’t you think we all enjoy some furious, quick-paced aerial car football? Particularly while rising through the Rocket League rankings. Rocket League distinguishes itself from the competition as a multiplayer competitive game because of its unique blend of collaboration, coordination, accuracy, and driving prowess.

Due to its originality, Rocket League has amassed a sizable fan base and elevated to the top esports. However, Rocket League offers a ranking system that enables players of all skill levels to advance through the Rocket League rankings from Unranked to Supersonic Legend across various competitive game modes. Ranked play is where you should be if you want to improve your Rocket League skills or if you enjoy the grind.

The best thing about Rocket League and its ranking system is that it’s far from complex and relatively easy to understand, even for a newbie just stepping into the world of Rocket League ranks. Rocket League might look like a kid’s game or a game for casuals, but once you set foot into it, it’s a whole other experience compared to the mainstream, Moba, MMOs, and FPS games. Enough with the rant; let’s get into the ranking system of Rocket League.

Rocket League ranks

Before jumping to the hard part of understanding the ranks, let’s first look at them from a high-level view. Rocket League has 23 ranks in total, from Unranked to SuperSonic Legend (SSL). Four sub-divisions are also used to divide the majority of ranks.

  1. Unranked
  2. Bronze I
  3. Bronze II
  4. Bronze III
  5. Silver I
  6. Silver II
  7. Silver III
  8. Gold I
  9. Gold II
  10. Gold III
  11. Platinum I
  12. Platinum II
  13. Platinum III
  14. Diamond I
  15. Diamond II
  16. Diamond III
  17. Champion I
  18. Champion II
  19. Champion III
  20. Grand Champion I
  21. Grand Champion II
  22. Grand Champion III
  23. SuperSonic Legend

The top Rocket League rank was Grand Champion before the significant free-to-play upgrade in September 2020. Supersonic Legend is currently the top honor for competitive Rocket League players since Grand Champion has fallen to second place and been split into four lower divisions.

How does Rocket League’s ranking work?

It’s worth noting that there are about seven ranked playlists spread across different game modes. The MMR is not streamlined for each playlist, so it can vary from playlist to playlist. For instance, you could have the same MMR in 2 playlists; let’s take Solos and Doubles for example; in solos, you could be C1, but the same MMR of 1s in Doubles would be lower, i.e., around Diamond 2 or 3.

This has been done due to the low player population in a particular game mode. As Solos has the least number of players out of three competitive playlists, Psyonix has decreased the MMR so more people could climb higher ranks and isn’t saturated in lower ranks.

This is the same with other non-competitive playlists such as Rumble, Snowday, and others. Most of the player base plays Doubles and Standard playlists. Also, you will have a different rank in each competitive game type in Rocket League because each one has its ranking ladder to climb. For instance, you could only be a Gold 1 player in doubles despite being a Diamond 3 player in standard.

Your MMR (more on this later), or matchmaking rank, decides your position. Each rank and division have a fixed MMR goal value you need to hit to advance. Wins make it go up; defeats make it go down. It’s that simple compared to tactical shooters and battle royals we’ve covered in the past.

MMR in Rocket League, what is it?

Matchmaking Rank, or MMR, is a secret statistic establishing your rank and enabling you to be balanced and matched with players of comparable skill levels. For instance, your rank is Gold 1, it is just a visual representation of your Rocket League MMR number, and other players in your rank are generally at your level of expertise. Your rank should change as you do, for better or for worse.

Though, you could see that number, i.e., MMR, beside your name on the scoreboard with the help of Bakkesmod. It’s a piece of software or Mod that provides several features to PC players only. You could see your MMR simultaneously on the scoreboard. Upon winning or losing, you’ll see a +10 or -10, depending on which ranks you were up against. 

The MMR of your opponent determines how much MMR you win for each victory or lose for each loss. For instance, if you defeat a rival who is ranked higher, you will get more MMR points than if you had defeated an opponent who was ranked the same as you or lower. Contrary to popular misconception, goals, assists, and Most Valuable Player honors do not impact how much MMR you get. 

In Rocket League’s ranked mode, MMR is computed significantly differently when matching if you’re signing up as a group. For certain matches, the MMR values of each party member will be adjusted, with the best and highest-ranked player receiving a heavier weighting. This prevents high-ranked players from joining lower-ranked lobbies to compete against easier opponents.

Ranked Rewards and Rank Placement Matches

Newer accounts or those who haven’t played after the new season will have to play ten placement games. Newbies’ skills will be accessed throughout the placements so the game can determine whether a smurf is playing. If you deserve Champion or Higher, the game will quickly rank you up to avoid spoiling the experience for low-skilled players.

At the end of every season, you’ll be awarded a reward after completing ten reward wins at your highest rank. Rocket League has a reward system, so anyone willing to get a Grand Champion reward will have to get to that rank, and complete ten wins to unlock GC rewards.

The rewards, such as wheels, trails, or goal explosions, could be cosmetic. The Grand Champions and above would also get a title that the player can display under their name.


In addition to being ranked, Psyonix introduced a separate tournament system with rewards and titles. There would be weekly and daily tournaments hosted by Psyonix, which has a fixed schedule. Upon winning a match, the team would be awarded points they could use to purchase tournament items. You will be given a title after winning the tournament based on your Tournament rank.

Final thoughts on the Rocket League ranks & ranking system

We’ve covered the base Rocket League ranks, their structures and division, the primary factors that affect your rank, and how to earn ranks and their rewards. We hope this guide has helped you better understand the Rocket League ranks and ranking system and enabled you to begin climbing the competitive ranks!

Digital Ghost's avatar

About Digital Ghost

Dg is the founder and co-owner of Corrosion Hour, a niche gaming community established in 2016 focusing on the survival game RUST. He is an active and contributing member of numerous other RUST communities. As a community leader and server owner for over 15 years, he spends much of his time researching and writing guides about survival games, covering topics such as server administration, game mechanics, and community growth.

View all posts by Digital Ghost →