Rainbow Six Siege Ranking System Explained (2022)

Gain a better understanding of Rainbow Six Siege’s Rank System

Thanks to continuous updates, new operators, maps, and weaponry, there has never been a better moment to start playing Rainbow Six Siege. If the most recent season and operators have captured your attention, you may have questions about how the ranking system functions. The ranked mode of Siege has changed considerably over the past five years, and there are many things you need to be aware of.

New players to Ubisoft’s tactical shooter may quickly feel overwhelmed with more than 50 operators to choose from, but don’t worry. It has a steep learning curve, similar to many other FPS games, and is aided best by casual and competitive game modes.

The Siege ranking system, which ranges from copper to champion, offers you a decent idea of the level you are presently playing at in the esports game. If you are new to the game, moving up the ranking system won’t be simple. However, we have all the information regarding Rainbow Six Siege’s ranked mode, including the ranking structure, MMR, season prizes, and more.

With the release of Operation Steel Wave, Ubisoft unveiled a new unified MMR system. The updated MMR methodology lowers regional rankings and accounts for global MMR gains and losses.

Rainbow Six Siege ranks

In Rainbow Six Siege, 23 tiers spread over seven ranking categories, from Copper to Champion. Your MMR, or matchmaking rank, fluctuates after each game and determines your rank. Each tier has a fixed rating that you must reach before moving to the next one. The Rainbow Six Siege rankings and corresponding MMR milestones are shown below.

  • Copper V (1,100)
  • Copper IV (1,200)
  • Copper III (1,300)
  • Copper II (1,400)
  • Copper I (1,500)
  • Bronze V (1,600)
  • Bronze IV (1,700)
  • Bronze III (1,800)
  • Bronze II (1,900)
  • Bronze I (2,000)
  • Silver V (2,100)
  • Silver IV (2,200)
  • Silver III (2,300)
  • Silver II (2,400)
  • Silver I (2,500)
  • Gold III (2,600)
  • Gold II (2,800)
  • Gold I (3,000)
  • Platinum III (3,200)
  • Platinum II (3,600)
  • Platinum I (4,000)
  • Diamond (4,400)
  • Champions (5,000+)

Usually, the average player base falls between Bronze and Silver, as this game demands expert map and operator knowledge. With a higher skill ceiling, if you want to raise that average, there is plenty of space for improvement. 

Above champion, there’s no limit on how far you can go, a leaderboard will start from there on, and each player will try to get that number 1 spot on the leaderboard.

How do Rainbow Six Siege ranks work?

When participating in its Ranked multiplayer playlist, Rainbow Six Siege offers players a tier rank depending on their performance. Your Matchmaking Rating is a numerical skill level determined by the game’s sophisticated algorithm and determined by adding up your victories and defeats across the playlist. Ranks from Bronze to Champion are closely correlated to your Matchmaking ratings (MMR).

The core of Rainbow Six Siege ranking is Microsoft’s TrueSkill engine, which takes average player skill and uncertainty into account and gets more accurate the more you play. It assists in calculating your MMR value, which, thanks to hardcoded numerical milestones, directly decides your rank.

With Operation Steel Wave, the most recent modification comes with a switch to a universal MMR system. Before this update, Rainbow Six Siege handled rankings on a per-region basis and permitted numerous spots on a single profile. A new “unified” backend, where MMR progress is replicated across all server locations, is introduced with the most recent seasonal update. 

To avoid MMR abuse, moving countries or playing with international friends no longer divides your rank. For instance, transferring to different areas after finishing the placement matches for your region will advance your previously-earned rank.

Rank Restriction

Queuing parties might overcome matching balance due to the wide variety of skills present throughout the ranking system, enabling players with any skill gap to party up. The feature, which restricts players to teams of partners with comparable skills, is the first attempt to counteract this effect. 

MMR restriction, which often equates to four to ten levels, stops players from playing Ranked when they are more than 1,000 MMR away. It provides some flexibility to keep friends together while avoiding such differences.

What factors affect my rank?

Rainbow Six Siege ranks aren’t affected by as many factors as other tactical shooters like CSGO or VALORANT; Siege, on the other hand, only considers your Wins and losses. Ubisoft enforces and encourages players to play as a team rather than going for kills and, in return, baiting their teammates. Your Kill -Death ratio (KD), match score, and bomb plants won’t alter your MMR.

Remember that ranked assignments are relative and based on the performance of other players in the game. Based on the players engaged and the general level of opponents’ competence, the overall impact on MRR varies. Comparative to losing to people below you, losing a game versus high-level opponents has less of an effect on MRR. Apart from losing the match, other factors affect your MMR, such as leaving early, being idle kicked, vote kicked, or getting caught hacking. It will severely decrease your rank.

How to earn a rank in Rainbow Six Siege?

If you’re starting the season, you must finish ten rated matches and want a rank. Your MMR will be adjusted as a consequence of the results of these matches, giving you the best rank possible. With each new season, your rank will be reset. Therefore, if you’ve had a long vacation from Siege, prepare to play your ten placement matches again.

Rank rewards

Rank rewards are cosmetic items that are awarded to players for their performance in a season. Rank rewards are based on how high a player touched a rank, regardless of how long they stayed there. In Rainbow Six Siege, weapons charms are awarded as rank rewards; they do not provide any competitive advantage. It’s just there to show off your previous season’s rank.

Final thoughts on Rainbow Six Siege Ranks & Ranking System

With that, we’ve covered the base Rainbow Six Siege ranks, the rank restrictions, what primary factors affect your rank, and how to earn ranks and their rewards. We hope this guide has helped you better understand the Rainbow Six Siege ranks and ranking system and enabled you to begin climbing the competitive ranks!

Digital Ghost's avatar

About Digital Ghost

Dg is the founder and co-owner of Corrosion Hour, a niche gaming community established in 2016 focusing on the survival game RUST. He is an active and contributing member of numerous other RUST communities. As a community leader and server owner for over 15 years, he spends much of his time researching and writing guides about survival games, covering topics such as server administration, game mechanics, and community growth.

View all posts by Digital Ghost →