CSGO Ranks: Ranking & MMR Explained

Knowledge is a competitive power

CS:GO is one of the biggest eSports games in the world. Alongside the likes of Dota 2, League of Legends, and CoD, CS:GO sustains major interest from both players and spectators. Whenever there’s a big event upcoming, it raises the tension between fans supporting their favorite teams, with jam-packed stadiums to millions of viewers on various streaming platforms such as Twitch, YouTube, and Facebook. It is a multimillion-dollar eSports game in itself. Watching professionals playing at the highest level usually sparks an interest in fans to compete in the game.

If you enjoy playing this well-liked eSports title or you are just getting started playing, then you might be unaware of how the ranking system works. Don’t worry; we’ve compiled this guide to explain how CS:GO ranks work, the CS:GO levels system, and the third-party matchmaking system.

The CS:GO ranking system, which has eighteen levels and has been around for a while, is relatively easy to grasp and is frequently used to tell beginner players apart from CS:GO Masters.

CS:GO ranks from beginner to master

  • Silver I
  • Silver II
  • Silver III
  • Silver IV
  • Silver Elite
  • Silver Elite Master
  • Gold Nova I
  • Gold Nova II
  • Gold Nova III
  • Gold Nova Master
  • Master Guardian I
  • Master Guardian II
  • Master Guardian Elite
  • Distinguished Master Guardian
  • Legendary Eagle
  • Legendary Eagle Master
  • Supreme Master First Class
  • Global Elite


CSGO Ranks (Competitive)

Like other competitive games, the developers have made a matchmaking system to compete with similar skill levels. There are 18 CS:GO ranks in total, which are divided into 4 main categories.

  1. Silver
  2. Gold Nova
  3. Master Guardian
  4. Elite
Silver ISilver I (S1)
Silver 2Silver 2 (S2)
Silver 3Silver III (S3)
Silver IVSilver IV (S4)
Silver EliteSilver Elite (SE)
Silver Elite MasterSilver Elite Master (SEM)
Gold Nova IGold Nova I (GN1)
Gold Nova IIGold Nova II (GN2)
Gold Nova IIIGold Nova III (GN3)
Gold Nova MasterGold Nova Master (GNM)
Master Guardian IMaster Guardian I (MG1)
Master Guardian IIMaster Guardian II (MG2)
Master Guardian EliteMaster Guardian Elite (MGE)
Distinguished Master GuardianDistinguished Master Guardian (DMG)
Legendary EagleLegendary Eagle (LE)
Legendary Eagle MasterLegendary Eagle Master (LEM)
Supreme Master First ClassSupreme Master First Class (SMFC)
Global EliteGlobal Elite (GE)

Most CS:GO players, according to statistics, will fall somewhere between Silver IV and Master Guardian I, although that is only an estimate. It’s estimated that about 40% of all gamers are still looking for a means to get up to these levels.

About 0.81 percent of all players compete at the highest end of the range, known as Global Elite. It’s one of the most challenging levels to achieve in contemporary competitive gaming, and it’s only available to the best CS:GO players.

CSGO Ranks vs. Levels

Understanding the difference between CS:GO ranks and levels is crucial before we go into further depth about any CS:GO rankings. These two topics are entirely distinct from one another and have nothing to do with the other, yet they are frequently mixed up, especially by new and inexperienced players.

There are 18 distinct ranks in CS:GO (as shown above), and each rank uses an individual’s skill level to create more balanced matches and a better gaming experience for that player.

On the other hand, CS:GO Levels are solely used to measure a player’s level of dedication to the game and have nothing to do with matchmaking, skill groupings, or ranks. These levels, which are also known as “Profile ranks,” can be raised by engaging in various in-game tasks. Beginning with Private Rank 1, new members will progress to Global General. Between these two positions are several levels of Colonel, Captain, Major, and Lieutenant.

How do CSGO ranks work?

Consider that you’re a technical player who wants to comprehend the CS:GO levels completely. Although the idea is straightforward, it has more restrictions than other, simpler competitive games. Unfortunately, CS:GO only shows players their rank or medal regarding the raw figures; it withholds their true MMR (match-making rating) number. It’s simple: when you lose a game, your MMR will drop; when you win, it will rise.

Contrary to other eSports games, the CS:GO matching algorithm takes into account more than simply your win-to-loss record. Additionally, your KDA (kills, deaths, and assists), MVP (player awards at the end of a round) total damage dealt every round, and the total amount of bombs you’ve planted and diffused will be taken into account. While winning your current match counts most toward the final computation, the CS:GO ranking system takes other factors into account as well.

The whole algorithm that is used to determine your CS:GO progress is unknown. It has been difficult to refute the entire hypothesis because Valve has kept this a secret. But we can be positive that winning a game will always raise your rank and give you a particular number of ELO points. The reverse will occur if you lose a game. But the number of points you obtain is still ambiguous and varies depending on the match. Unfortunately, there is no method to show how many points you gain or lose explicitly.

What Affects CS:GO’s ELO?

Depending on how each match turns out, several elements are used to compute and decide how many ELO points your account will gain or lose. After each game, you will have gained or lost a different number of points. Whether you win or lose, the match is the only factor we are confident will impact this at this time. However, a few more elements contribute to the accuracy of the outcome. Such as your enemy’s ranks, your teammate’s ranks, your rank, your KDA in a match, and the number of rounds won and lost.

Third-Party Matchmaking Platforms

In addition to in-game CS:GO ranks, there are third-party matchmaking platforms that provide the best servers and fair matchmaking experience. There are two major third-party matchmaking services, i.e., Faceit and ESEA.


In 2012, FACEIT was established in London. It serves as a stage for expert video gaming tournaments with internet multiplayer. One approach to start your eSports career is by participating on this platform. In contrast to the traditional CS:GO matchmaking system, Faceit provides 128 tick servers vs 64 tick in CS:GO, a ladder system, and an effective anti-cheat system, unlike Valve anti-cheat.


One of the biggest gaming communities in the world is accessible through ESEA. It now offers PUG, Ladders, Scrims, and Events that are part of one of the biggest open format leagues in the world. It offers the same services as Faceit but with some additional features, such as Scrim System and Karma System.

Wrapping up

Understanding the CS:GO ranking system is important for new players or players who are new to competitive play.  In order to rise up in the ranks, you’ve got a lot of matches ahead of you, so it’s important to understand how your actions and achievements in every match will contribute to the velocity at which you rank up and rise in the rankings. If you are looking to get started in eSports as a CS:GO player, playing smart, cooperatively, and respectfully will take you a long way on your journey to the top. 

Squishface's avatar

About Squishface

Squishface is the co-founder and owner of Corrosion Hour; a RUST community and website dedicated to helping server owners with the administration and navigation of the ever-changing landscape of RUST. As a programmer with over a decade in the field and a decades-long love of gaming, she spends much of her time in code researching and developing ways to bring meaningful content to help players and readers.

View all posts by Squishface →