Apex Legends Ranking System Explained (2022)

Apex Legends Ranks and Ranking System Explained

Gain a better understanding of Apex Legends Ranks and Ranking System

Battle royale games have exploded in popularity since PUBG was released in 2017. Many Battle Royale (BR) games have been released, such as Fortnite, Realm Royale, and a bunch of others. Fortnite has changed gaming history with its release in late 2017, but we’re not here to discuss these games. The only BR that stood out among others was Apex Legends, released in 2019. Since then, its player base and popularity have grown ten folds. A small Indie dev Respawn is owned by its parent company EA. It took the world of BR games by storm.

The mechanics, gunplay, and most importantly, it introduced characters with unique abilities (Just like Overwatch). The competitive part of BRs has always been controversial; the RNG (Random Number Generation) in these games takes away a portion of skill and strategy and puts it under the section of Luck. That’s why not everyone liked their eSports tournaments. The concept of landing and looking for a weapon usually ends up in RNG. 

The same goes for their ranking system. Apex legends had a great ranking system before season 13, where they brought up necessary changes. We’ll go over both the old and new ranking systems to help you understand what has changed and what hasn’t.

Apex Legends’ old ranking system

Before Season 13 update, the ranking system had flaws that the developers wanted to fix for a very long time. The old ranking system was straightforward, and many people were abusing it. To further understand it, it’s essential to know the ranks in Apex Legends.

  • Bronze: 0 RP
  • Silver: 1200 RP
  • Gold: 2800 RP
  • Platinum: 4800 RP
  • Diamond: 7200 RP
  • Master: 10 000 RP
  • Apex Predator: top 750 players with over 10 000 RP

The master’s rank has been around since season 4. It was added to fix the skill disparity between diamond and predator. Predator players were being put into Diamond lobbies before season 4, which hurt the ranking system. The skill disparity was significant between diamonds and Predators. With the inclusion of master’s rank, the predator has been made for the best of the best players, just like Radiant in Valorant.

How did Apex Ranked work?

Each match has an entry cost; it varies between the tiers. The higher your rank tier is, the higher the entry cost. The entry cost and their rank tiers are given below to make things clear and concise.

  • Bronze: -0 RP
  • Silver: -12 RP
  • Gold: -24 RP
  • Platinum: -36 RP
  • Diamond: -48 RP
  • Master: -60 RP
  • Apex Predator: -60 RP

You’re awarded 10RP for a kill and assist; the placement point starts after the top 13 teams are standing. Respawn has capped the points from Kills and Assists to 7. The more RP you earn, you are closer to the top position. If you win the match, you can only make a total of 100 RP in this manner. So, it means you can get a maximum RP of 250.

Match abandon penalty

There’s also a match abandon penalty in place; if you get killed at the start of the match and try to leave the game, not only you’ll be restricted to queue again for 10 minutes, but also Any RP you would have accrued for that match is likewise lost if you quit the game.

Before the dropship phase begins, if a player disconnects from the game, their assigned (matchmade) teammates are free to quit without incurring a leaver penalty or losing RP for entering a match. Players in the same party as the disconnected player will receive an “abandon” penalty.

The Ranked changes in Season 13

The most significant change in the Apex ranking system has been introducing the ‘Rookie’ rank below Bronze. Just like Bronze had 0 RP entry cost, it’ll have no entry cost. With that, the Bronze has an entry cost now, but it’s completely different than before.

The price for each tier of Apex Legends Ranking Points is listed below:

  • Bronze 
    • Division 4: 15 RP
    • Division 3: 18 RP
    • Division 2: 21 RP
    • Division 1: 24 RP
  • Silver 
    • Division 4: 27 RP
    • Division 3: 30 RP
    • Division 2: 33 RP
    • Division 1: 36 RP
  • Gold 
    • Division 4: 39 RP
    • Division 3: 42 RP
    • Division 2: 45 RP
    • Division 1: 48 RP
  • Platinum 
    • Division 4: 51 RP
    • Division 3: 54 RP
    • Division 2: 57 RP
    • Division 1: 60 RP
  • Diamond 
    • Division 4: 63 RP
    • Division 3: 66 RP
    • Division 2: 69 RP
    • Division 1: 72 RP
  • Master 
    • All Divisions: 75 RP

It’s important to note that Master rank matches will have a higher entrance fee of +5 RP for every 1,000 RP beyond the threshold for the rank, up to a maximum of 175 RP.

Changes in RP for placements

Players will receive 25 RP for each kill and assist in-game and 125 RP for winning the match. Respawn has simplified the kill RP mechanisms for the future Season. However, this placement value is the same as in Season 12. The regular RP will be awarded if you kill someone in the same rank tier as you (for instance, a platinum player killing a platinum player), depending on how you fare. However, killing a lower-ranked person will get you less RP, while killing a higher-ranked person will earn you more RP.

Loss forgiveness

In Apex Legends, “loss forgiveness” is the condition in which any RP losses you may have sustained are canceled. Loss forgiveness is often applied if you exit the game unexpectedly, if you’re alone when the drop sequences begin, or if your matchmade teammates—not friends—quit the game.

Ranked splits

Apex Legends splits each Ranked Season into two halves, with each part taking place on a different map. Players’ ranks will be gently reset halfway through the Season when the maps switch over for the new split to motivate them to keep putting in the work to regain the top ranks.

Ranked rewards

After each ranked Season, Apex Legends ranking awards are distributed. The greatest rank you achieved during that season will be reflected in them, which may include dive trails, charms, or badges.

Takeaways for Apex Legends Ranks and Ranking System

While Apex Legends has its own ranks and ranking system, it competes with other competitive games in this space, each with its unique systems. Even though ranking systems across many games are similar in nature, the subtle differences and variations are what draw us back to them.  We hope this information has provided you with a better understanding of the Apex Legends ranks and ranking system. Now get out there and go fight your way to the top of the battle royale and arenas.

About Digital Ghost

Dg is the founder and co-owner of Corrosion Hour, a niche gaming community established in 2016 focusing on the survival game RUST. He is an active and contributing member of numerous other RUST communities. As a community leader and server owner for over 15 years, he spends much of his time researching and writing guides about survival games, covering topics such as server administration, game mechanics, and community growth.

View all posts by Digital Ghost →